IT Service Management Foundation based on ISO/IEC 20000

  • Summary

    The IT Service Management Foundation certificate describes the key information and concepts for IT Service Management as well as their relationships with other areas of information management. This course builds the fundamental skills and knowledge enabling one to participate in organizational teams working within Service Management. Emphasis is on the service management system (SMS) and service management processes, specifically the core concepts and basic terminology of IT service management based on ISO/IEC 20000:2011.

    The Foundation level is in line with the book Implementing Service Quality based on ISO/IEC 20000: A Management Guide written by Michael Kunas.

    IT Service Management Foundation is part of the Certified Integrator program and is one of the prerequisites to attain the titles:

  • Course Content

    1. Introduction to IT Service Management
      1. Core concepts of IT Service Management
      2. Core concepts of Quality Frameworks
    2. The Service Management System (SMS)
      1. Introduction to Management Systems
      2. Core concepts of the Service Management System (SMS)
    3. Service Design and Transition
      1. Core concepts for Service Design and Transition
    4. The service delivery processes and their relationships
      1. The service delivery processes and their relationships (Service level management, Service reporting, Service continuity and availability management, Budgeting and accounting for services, Capacity management, Information security management)
    5. The relationship processes and their relationships
      1. The relationship processes and their relationships (Business relationship management, Supplier management)
    6. The resolution processes and their relationships
      1. The resolution processes and their relationships (Incident and service request management, Problem management)
    7. The control processes and their relationships
      1. The control processes and their relationships (Change management, configuration management, release and deployment management)
  • e-Competence Framework (e-CF)

    The mapping of this certificate against the e-Competence Framework.

    e-CF Area e-Competence e-1 e-2 e-3 e-4 e-5
    PLAN A.2 Service Level Management
    RUN C.1 User Support
    C.2 Change Support
    C.3 Service Delivery
    C.4 Problem Management
    ENABLE D.9 Personel Development
    MANAGE E.4 Relationship Management
    E.5 Process Improvement
    E.6 ICT Quality Management


    Legend for coverage:

    General - The competence is covered at the level indicated
    Partial - The competence is covered to some extent
    Superficial - Relevant knowledge is covered to some extent
    The competence level is available in the framework
    The competence level is not available in the framework
  • Target group

    ITSM Foundation is intended for everyone playing a role or having an interest in IT service management.

    Specific roles could include:

    • Managers
    • Business and supervisory staff
    • Team leaders
    • Service designers
    • IT architects and/or planners
    • IT consultants
    • IT audit managers / auditors
    • IT security managers / officers
    • Project/program managers
    • Suppliers, Lead suppliers and sub-contracted suppliers
    • Service provider customers
  • Exam Details

    The topics of the Foundation course include:

    • Exam Duration: 60 Minutes
    • Exam Format: Multiple Choices
    • Number of Question: 40 Questions
    • Exam Pass Mark: 26 out of 40 (65%)
    • Level of Qualification: Foundation
    • Electronic Devices Permitted: No
    • Open Book: No


You can book your exams at your preferable time and date.

Note: The Exam centers are closed on National Holidays and work hours from 9 am – 6 pm every day.


Please contact us on or reach us on +91 7259704860/
+91 7259704806
for best quote.